Texas Senate

  • The Texas Senate currently has 20 Republicans and 11 Democrats.
  • 16 incumbents are not up for re-election until 2020.
  • 15 of the 31 Senate districts are up for election in 2018.
  • One incumbent is not seeking re-election: Van Taylor (R-Plano) in District 8 – Angela Paxton, wife of Attorney General Ken Paxton won the Republican Primary in Senate District 8.
  • One incumbent Senate member was defeated in the Primary – Senator Craig Estes in District 30.

Texas House

  • The Texas House has 94 Republicans and 55 Democrats.
  • One Republican resigned and his seat was vacant – Representative Leighton Schubert of Caldwell (District 13). Grimes County Judge Ben Leman won the Special Election to fill his seat.
  • All 150 members of the Texas House are up for re-election in 2018.
  • 13 Incumbent Members of the Texas House did Not Seeking Re-election:

Cindy Burkett (R-Sunnyvale) in District 113,

Byron Cook (R-Corsicana) in District 8,

Pat Fallon (R-Frisco) in District 106,

Helen Giddings (D-Dallas) in District 109,

Larry Gonzales (R-Round Rock) in District 52,

Lance Gooden (R-Terrell) in District 4,

Jason Isaac (R-Dripping Springs) in District 45,

Mark Keough (R-The Woodlands) in District 15,

Jodie Laubenberg (R-Wylie) in District 89,

Larry Phillips (R-Sherman) in District 62,

Kevin Roberts (R-Houston) in District 126.

Leighton Schubert (R-Caldwell) in District 13, and

Joe Straus (R-San Antonio) in District 121.

  • 6 incumbents were defeated in the Primary:

Wayne Faircloth (R-Dickinson) in District 23

Dawnna Dukes (D-Austin) in District 46

Roberto Alonzo (D-Dallas) in District 104

Jason Villalba (R-Dallas) in District 114

Diana Arevalo (D-San Antonio) in District 116

Tomas Uresti (D-San Antonio) in District 118

  • 2 incumbents lost in the run-off election:

Rene Oliveira (D-Brownsville) in District 37

Scott Cosper (R-Killeen) in District 54


The General election is Tuesday, November 6, 2018.